Scout Network

The Scout Network is our fifth and final youth section for those aged between 18 and 25 years. Organisation

Scout Networks are managed at Scout District level. The Leadership structure of a Scout Network consists of a Scout Network Leader, who is essentially an advisor or mentor to the members, and elected members of the Network who help to run it. This usually includes a chairperson and a treasurer to manage the day-to-day affairs of the Network.

The Scout Promise and Law

All members of the Scout Network undertake the Scout Promise and are expected to observe the Scout Law.

The Scout promise is:

  • On my honour, I promise that I will do my best,
  • To do my duty to God and to the Queen,
  • To help other people
  • And to keep the Scout Law.

Alternative promise

Scouting is available to people of all faiths as well as people who are humanist, atheist or have no affirmed faith and therefore must therefore take account of the different religious obligations or non religious beliefs of its Members.

Similarly, people of other nationalities resident in the United Kingdom, who may become Members of the Association, owe allegiance to their own Country. To meet these circumstances, there are different variations of the Beaver Scout, Cub Scout and Scout Promise that can be made, allowing for the individuals obligations while upholding the essential spirit of the Promise.

The Scout Law

  • A Scout is to be trusted.
  • A Scout is loyal.
  • A Scout is friendly and considerate.
  • A Scout belongs to the worldwide family of Scouts.
  • A Scout has courage in all difficulties.
  • A Scout makes good use of time and is careful of possessions and property.
  • A Scout has self-respect and respect for others.


Members of the Scout Network share the general Scout motto of Be Prepared.


Scout Network uniform consists a stone long sleeve or short sleeve shirt or blouse, a neckerchief and woggle, and navy blue combat trousers, known officially as “activity trousers”, Scout belt or Explorer Belt and buckle once achieved.. A skirt, activity shorts and polo shirt are available as options. Sea Scout uniform differs by either a navy blue jersey or a light blue shirt; headgear is a seaman’s cap with a “Sea Scout” tally band. Air Scouts wear a light blue shirt and headgear is a blue-grey beret.

Awards and Badges

In contrast to our other sections, members of the Scout Network cannot achieve any Challenge or Activity badges with the programme instead focusing on skills that could help in future life.

The main three awards of the section are the Chief Scout’s Platinum Award, Chief Scout’s Diamond Award and the Queen’s Scout Award which members are encourage to undertake. These awards share a similar structure to the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award scheme and these latter awards can be used to complete the Scouting equivalent. The awards require members to undertake an extended period of physical activity, voluntary service and skill improvement as well as an expedition and a residential experience for the Queen’s Scout Award.

In addition to these three awards the Network members can also undertake the Explorer Belt Award and allows members to undertake a 10-day international expedition, the International Scouts of the World Award which focuses on making a social impact through an international journey, and the Partnership Awards for working on large scale projects with another group

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls