Who’s Who

Scouting in Durham City is managed by the District Commissioner – commonly known as the DC.

The DC is assisted by Several Assistant District Commissioners (or ADCs) each of whom has an area of specific responsibility. The ADCs take responsibility for coordinating the District program. The District is managed and overseen by the executive committee which consists of a Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary.





District Commissioner Simon Kemp
Assistant District Commissioners (ADC’s) – Sections
Beavers Leigh Callaghan
Cubs Sarah Dodds
Scouts Mark Robinson
Explorers (DESC) Jayne Gibson
Network Tom Kitching
Assistant District Commissioners (ADC’s) – Other Roles
Campsite Warden (Coalburns) John Little
Communications Slimer
Media D’Arcy Emberson
Training Dave O’Connell
Vacant Roles
ADC Activities Vacant
ADC Adult Recruitment Vacant
ADC Events Vacant
ADC Data Protection Vacant
ADC Diversity & Inclusion Vacant
ADC Faith Vacant
ADC Fundraising Vacant
ADC Safety & Safeguarding Vacant
ADC Special Projects Vacant
Young Leaders Commissioner Vacant
I want the public to know how Scouting continues to open young people’s eyes to a world of extraordinary promise and possibilities.'
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls